LibGuides: Food Web (Greenwood): Books

Print Reference Books

Come to the library to browse these VERY helpful sources!

Biomes and Habitats
Call Number: REF 577.586 TOC
ISBN: 0531174506
Wildlife and Plants by Marshall Cavendish Corporation Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: REF 578 WIL
ISBN: 9780761476931
Encyclopedia of the Aquatic World by Marshall Cavendish Corporation Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: REF 578.76 ENC
ISBN: 0761474188
International Wildlife Encyclopedia by Maurice Burton (Editor); Robert Burton (Editor)
Call Number: REF 590 INT
ISBN: 0761472665
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia by Gale Research Staff; Michael Hutchins
Call Number: REF 590.3 GRZ
ISBN: 0787653624
Exploring Mammals by Marshall Cavendish Corporation Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: REF 599.03 EXP
ISBN: 9780761477198
In clear language, it investigates the wide range of mammalian lifestyles and habits, noting the ways in which mammals have adapted to live in a variety of habitats and showing the similarities and differences among species. Each volume contains a graphic family tree, illustrating the taxonomic relationships among the mammals discussed throughout the set.

Search all the eBooks at once, or go directly to the Gale eBooks site to browse the collection.

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Use this link when you are off-campus.

Start with these eBooks!

Grzimek's Student Animal Life Resource
This resource book offers broad, comprehensive coverage of the animal kingdom, ranging from the simple -- sponges and corals -- to the complex -- mammals. Animals are grouped by major classifications: sponges; corals; jellyfishes; segmented worms; crustaceans and mollusks; insects; fishes; amphibians; reptiles; birds; and mammals.
DK Guide to Mammals
Explores the world of mammals--their habitats, behavior, anatomy, intelligence, and more.
DK Mammal
Discover why a wallaby has a pouch. Find out how to recognize animal footprints. See how newborn mice develop. Be an eyewitness to the lives of your remarkable relatives, the mammals--from hedgehogs and bats to elephants and bushbabies.
Amphibian
Provides detailed information on the different habitats, life cycles, and natural history of frogs, toads, newts, salamanders, and the rare caecilians.
Big Cats
Explores the lives and habitats of big cats such as lions, tigers, pumas, and leopards.
Bird
Provides detailed information on birds' habitats, diet, and sizes, as well as other interesting facts about birds.
Fish
Provides detailed information on the world of fish, including how they evolved, how they live, and their habitats.
Insect
Provides detailed information on the world of insects. Describes the variety and complexity of insects, their structure, life cycles and behavior.
Reptile
Provides detailed information on the world of reptiles, including their natural history, habits, and lifestyles.