LibGuides: Battles for Chattanooga: Online Resources

The War of the Rebellion: Original Records of the Civil War

The War of the Rebellion: Original Records of the Civil War
As the site says:
No serious study of the American Civil War is complete without consulting the Official Records. Affectionately known as the "OR", the 128 volumes of the Official Records provide the most comprehensive, authoritative, and voluminous reference on Civil War operations. The reports contained in the Official Records are those of the principal leaders who fought the battles and then wrote their assessments days, weeks, and sometimes months later. The Official Records are thus the eyewitness accounts of the veterans themselves. As such they are "often flawed sources – poorly written in some cases, lacking perspective in others, frequently contradictory and occasionally even self-serving."

This site offers the complete records online, and a searchable database. Very valuable!

Web Sites

The Civil War Trust The Civil War Trust is the largest nonprofit organization dedicated to the preservation of America's battlefields. This site has many battlefield maps and photos.

CivilWar@Smithsonian Produced by the National Portrait Gallery, this site has an extensive image collection of Civil War artifacts. With background information included, the visitor can find anything from Abraham Lincoln’s beaver top hat to examples of uniforms and weapons. The site also includes portraits, sculptures, and photographs.

American Civil War (The History Channel )This site includes an extensive gallery of clips from History Channel’s Civil War documentaries, photographs, topic overviews, an interactive map of Sherman’s march, and an interactive graphical overview of the war. Topics include: technology, women, espionage, medicine, biographies of important people, and discussions of important battles.

Official Records of the Battle of Chickamauga The official records of the Battle of Chickamauga with a few other sources. Includes reports from the commanders involved in the Battle.

Battles for Chattanooga Battles for Chattanooga Museum's website.

Battle of Chattanooga Information on the Battle of Chattanooga.

Battle of Chickamauga Information on the battle with some statistics.

The Battle of Chickamauga Information on the Battle of Chickamauga including maps and links to more information.

Battle of Chickamauga The History Channel's website with information on the Battle of Chickamauga, as well as articles on Chickamauga and the Battle of Chattanooga.

Battle of Chickamauga Information on the Battle of Chickamauga with a page on the battle from

Deep Zoom Chattanooga
Great historic photos of Chattanooga which you can zoom in on with just a mouse click

Harper's Weekly

From Wikipedia:

Harper's Weekly (A Journal of Civilization) was an American political magazine based in New York. Published by Harper & Brothers from 1857 until 1916, it featured foreign and domestic news, fiction, essays on many subjects, and humor, alongside illustrations. It carried extensive coverage of the American Civil War, including many illustrations of events from the war. During its most influential period, it was the forum of the political cartoonist Thomas Nast.

You can find it online in two spots:

Harper's Weekly from Sons of the South
This is a page by page facsimile of the originals. It is not, however, searchable by keyword.
Haprer's Weekly via the Internet Archive
This version - also a facsimile - is searchable via the search box at the top

Battles for Chattanooga: Online Resources

The War of the Rebellion: Original Records of the Civil War

Web Sites

Harper's Weekly

Search Engines