Skip to Main Content

Cold War Museum Project: Recommended Websites

Here are some resources to help you with your project for Messrs. Linsley and McCourt

General Sites

PBS Series
This page has links to two terrific PBS series: The Cold War: From Yalta to Malta; and The People's Century. Lots of first hand and eyewitness accounts.
Cold War Museum
A good source for photos, maps and other illustrations
Internet Archive
Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, and more.
History Sourcebook
Fordham's History Sourcebook is a great place to get started. Lots of links to really high quality websites
Cold War Files - Wilson Center
From the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars.

Links to Primary Source Collections

Cold War Collections of Documents from The Wilson Center
This is the easiest to use and most complete of the online collections.
Cold War Primary Sources from the National Archive
Cold War Origins Documents from the Wilson Center
Harvard Cold War Document Archive
CIA Cold War Collection from the Reagan Years
Intellegence Operations in The Cold War from Wilson Center
Economic Cold War Documents from the Wilson Center
Wilson Center Berlin Wall Documents
End of the Cold War Documents from The Wilson Center
National Security Archive
You will need to do a search on the top right corner of the page for "Cold War"
Harvard Cold War Studies Nuclear Test Videos and Documents
With videos of nuclear tests
The Cold War and Hockey from the Wilson Center
Library of Congress Historic Newspaper Collections
You will need to search Cold War topics within the page.
Historic Films from British Pathe
Search Your Topic- newsreels and more.

Sweet Search