Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
From the Library of Congress.
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
From their website:
The Internet Archive is a non-profit that was founded to build an Internet library. Its purposes include offering permanent access for researchers, historians, scholars, people with disabilities, and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format.
Founded in 1996 and located in San Francisco, the Archive has been receiving data donations from Alexa Internet and others. In late 1999, the organization started to grow to include more well-rounded collections. Now the Internet Archive includes: texts, audio, moving images, and software as well as archived web pages in our collections
HathiTrust is a smaller - and possibly higher quality - version of Google Books. Books published before 1923 can be viewed online in their entirety. Unlike Google Books, HathiTrust provides online access to both historic and current U.S. Government Documents.
To make best use of this archive use the "Advanced full-text search."
In the HathiTrust Advanced Full-text Search one can limit searches by: Title, Author, Subject, Publisher, and Years of Publication.
Be sure to check the box "Full view only" before clicking on "Search."
American Decades: Primary Sources
American Decades from Gale
Cross-disciplinary source spanning the 20th century. Each volume in the set includes full or excerpted primary sources representing the seminal issues, themes, movements and events from a decade. Includes oral histories, songs, speeches, advertisements, TV, play and movie scripts, letters, laws, legal decisions, newspaper articles, cartoons, recipes, and more.