Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is a secondary source?
According to Wikipedia: "a secondary source is a document or recording that relates or discusses information originally presented elswhere." Generally, a secondary source pulls together all of the primary material, and synthesizes and evaluates that information in a new form. Some examples:
- Scholary articles in academic periodicals
- Critical essays and analyses
You'll find many reference works on this site
You'll find a large collection of full-text reference works here
McCallie Library Catalog
Find books, eBooks, and eAudiobooks in the library by searching in the search box.
In other libraries via interlibrary loan
World Cat is a catalog of many, many of the catalogs of libraries all over the world. Search for your resource, and it will list which libraries in our area have it. The librarian can then check on whether it's available via interlibrary loan
HathiTrust is a smaller - and possibly higher quality - version of Google Books. Books published before 1923 can be viewed online in their entirety. Unlike Google Books, HathiTrust provides online access to both historic and current U.S. Government Documents.
To make best use of this archive use the "Advanced full-text search."
In the HathiTrust Advanced Full-text Search one can limit searches by: Title, Author, Subject, Publisher, and Years of Publication.
Be sure to check the box "Full view only" before clicking on "Search."
American National Biography
Find the off-campus username and password here: https://moodle.mccallie.org/mod/page/view.php?id=34709
Thousands of full-text professional and academic journals.
Local Resources via TEL
Tennessee Electronic Library
TEL is a resource of 70 databases supplied by six vendors. In addition to the Gale collection of databases (which includes "The Tennessean," TEL resources include the genealogy database HeritageQuest online and World Book Encyclopedia.