Skip to main content

Trial of Andrew Jackson (Honors US History): Home

A guide for your research on Andrew Jackson's Trial for Mr. Chapin's Honors US History course (Fall 2014)

Andrew Jackson

Assignment

Historians are divided in how they view the legacy of Andrew Jackson. Many see him as a champion of the common man, hero and preserver of the Union, and the great equalizer of the political system. Others see him as a killer, a man of uncontrolled anger and passion, one who acted unconstitutionally and that exercised more executive power than any other of his time. So how should we remember his legacy? Let's let the trial decide. 

We are putting Jackson's legacy on trial in answering the following question: Did Andrew Jackson use the power of the presidency appropriately in promoting peace, stability, prosperity, and the American values of freedom and democracy? Was he truly a man of the people? At the core of the case is this, did Andrew Jackson act within the constitution and was he a champion of democracy?

Each student will have a role in determining the outcome of the case by being a lawyer, a witness, or a juror

Finding Electronic Books - Gale Virtual Reference Library

Search all the eBooks at once, or go directly to the Gale Virtual Reference Library to browse the collection.

Gale Power Search

Discover a great collection of articles from thousands of Gale resources – magazines, journals, newspapers and books along with videos, images and podcast content – all brought to you by your library. Your search should always start here.

LIBRARY CATALOG

 

McCallie Library's Online Catalog

American National Biography

Archive.org

Sweet Search

Citing Sources

MLA In-Text Citations - via Purdue's OWL Site

Using Noodle Tools to Cite Sources

When you create your new project, don't forget to select "CHICAGO" for the style of citation you'll be making.

Here's how you can use it:

  • Note-taking and outlining: NoodleTools notecards are specifically designed to make connections, record and develop original ideas, articulate arguments, and avoid accidental plagiarism. The Notecard Tabletop contains organizational features like tagging, labeling and piling that support logical and inspired writing.
  • Annotated bibliography: Students can create an accurate annotated bibliography in MLA or Chicago/Turabian style, grouped into primary and secondary sources. They can choose from a broad range of source options. Pop-up help and dynamic citation templates are embedded at points of need. The student's polished bibliography can be exported to Google Drive or any word processor.
  • Source evaluation: Research shows that all students find source identification and evaluation to be especially challenging aspects of the research process. "Show Me" online teaching modules guide students in identifying source types, including primary sources, and in assessing the relevance and credibility of information.
  • Group collaboration: For an exhibition, performance, documentary or website project, student teams can work simultaneously on the group's notecards and citations and view each other's changes in real time.
  • Differentiated levels: Students have an option to select either the Junior or Advanced/Senior level of NoodleTools based on their self-assessed proficiency and their National History Day division. Each level includes appropriate help for identifying, evaluating and citing sources. Should Junior-level students find that they are using advanced source types, they can seamlessly move up to the Advanced level.

If you don't have an account yet, see Ms Reardon

Did you know? Noodle Tools has a downloadable app! All you have to do is scan the ISBN of the book you're using, and it automatically uploads the information into your Noodle Tools bibliography!

Mr. Chapin's Recommended Resources

Clips from the history channel

http://www.history.com/topics/andrew-jackson

Yale Law School primary documents

http://avalon.law.yale.edu/subject_menus/jackpap.asp

White House bio of jackson

http://www.whitehouse.gov/about/presidents/andrewjackson

Read South Carolina's Exposition and Protest...

http://www.teachingushistory.org/documents/expositionandprotest.pdf

Read the excerpt from Jackson's nullification proclamation

http://www.gilderlehrman.org/sites/default/files/inline-pdfs/Nullification%20Proclamation.pdf

 Henry Clay on Jackson's Bank veto

http://facweb.furman.edu/~benson/docs/clay.htm

Jackson's Bank veto message

http://www.let.rug.nl/usa/presidents/andrew-jackson/bankveto-message-1832.php

Hayne Webster debate

http://www.constitution.org/hwdebate/hwdebate.htm

Jackson and nullification

http://avalon.law.yale.edu/19th_century/jack01.asp

Letter to Van Buren about nullification

http://wadsworth.cengage.com/history_d/special_features/ext/am_hist/ap/chapter10/10.2.jackson.vanburen.html

the force bill

http://teachingamericanhistory.org/library/document/force-bill-of-1833/

Smithsonian on John Ross

http://www.smithsonianmag.com/history-archaeology/The-Cherokees-vs-Andrew-Jackson.html

Indian removal

http://www.synaptic.bc.ca/ejournal/jackson.htm#.Up49YsRDuSo

Cherokee Nation vs. the state of Georgia

http://www.let.rug.nl/usa/documents/1826-1850/marshall-cases-cherokee-nation-v-state-of-georgia-1831.php

Worcester vs. GA.

http://www.civics-online.org/library/formatted/texts/worcester.html

John Ross letter to..

http://historymatters.gmu.edu/d/6598/